WritersBeat.com

WritersBeat.com (http://forums.writersbeat.com/index.php)
-   Nine and Sixty Ways – Poetry Tools and Lessons (http://forums.writersbeat.com/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   The Last Train [Poetic Conceit] (http://forums.writersbeat.com/showthread.php?t=19190)

ZiggaZil 08-02-2009 07:45 PM

The Last Train [Poetic Conceit]

(I'm unsure if this is the general idea of poetic conceit. But I thought I'd try it. I'm a rookie poet. :D )

The Last Train
I wait.
I wonder.
I wish.

The tracks beckon and bellow
Beckoning me closer
Pulling me deeper.
Calling to me in the deepest part of night.

I watch the trains pass me by
Day by day
Chance by chance.

I watch the time bleed from day to day
Week to week.
I feel the chill of the seasons changing
And the rumble of the trains.

I feel the rustle of my bones.
I hear the pound of my heart
The shout of need in my brain.

I see the last train.

And I ride.
The tracks no longer bellow from afar.
For I feel them under me.
I’m traveling,
Traveling,
…traveling.

A destination in sight.
A world at my fingertips.
And the last train rumbling on.

Joerotheray 08-04-2009 10:13 AM

I am a rookie as well, at most things. I am trying to decide whether you are the train or the traveler.

ZiggaZil 08-04-2009 02:16 PM

I see I see. Lol. Yeah. I never really do poetry. More songs and stories.

I wrote it as being the traveler. But I didn't think about the alternative meaning...hmmm...

HoiLei 08-04-2009 05:00 PM

I like it. It makes me wonder what the person was waiting for; why take the last train when there were plenty before? Since I'm a terrible procrastinator, I think I could be the narrator. "What, something incredibly important? Nah, I'll wait." Then, when I finally do it, I enjoy it and wish I'd given myself more time! The "tracks beneath me", finally-traveling part is the best...

ZiggaZil 08-04-2009 05:14 PM

It's kind of like....