WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Prompts & Challenges

Prompts & Challenges Prompts, readings, and ideas to get you writing.

Challenge #37: Why James Joyce Would Cry On the Internet

Old 12-03-2009, 10:01 PM
Nightmare_Muse (Offline)
Pencil pusher
Official Member

Thanks 0
Default Challenge #37: Why James Joyce Would Cry On the Internet

It's my first attempt at a challenge, yet I feel as if this will garner more sickness than praise.

-------------

Dear Santa Claus,
I have but one simple wish, and it’s explained incomprehensibly, so I do hope that you’ve obtained several degrees in ancient Irish mythology, the English language, and several hundred dead languages. This is, after all, a tough task to discern my syntax, if you don’t have that feeling that perhaps when it comes to the whole world of literature, I am the übermensch. I’m sorry, did I say übermensch? That’s Neitchze’s schtique. I’m sure you don’t like Neitchze very much; if he could claim that God was dead, after all, would he not say that you too are dead? But no, for some indiscernible reason, I am compelled to say that I would agree with him. After all, the seagull I just saw outside my window reminded me of something…
I was writing my sort-of-yet-eerily-not-exactly autobiographical novel, Stephen Hero, err, I mean, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, when I saw I seagull during a little stroll on the beaches near Dublin. Ah yes. It was a seagull that soared! And so high did it soar that I felt that I was soaring! And then my foot cramped up and felt sore, and so too did I feel sore. And then I saw Ernest Hemmingway on the beach, wielding his elephant gun like he had something to do with it.
“Fancy seeing you here,” he said. He dropped his elephant gun. I swore he probably dropped his pants too.
“What are you doing here?” I replied. The American oaf rolled a goofy grin past his bushy beard and laughed.