WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Writer's Beat > Introductions

Introductions Introduce yourself; we're all writers here, nothing to hide!

In the south, we say "Hey, y'all!"

Old 12-06-2016, 03:39 PM
KTB (Offline)
Let me introduce myself
New Author

Icon7 In the south, we say "Hey, y'all!"

Hi!

I'm Kim. I'm writing to you from one of the southern states in the USA. If we were to speak, y'all'd tell me I have a funny accent. And y'all'd be right. Now, for a wee background on me, if you'd like to know:

As a day job, I'm an accountant - but don't stop reading, please! I promise, my Pocket Protector has been secured for the night. I've been writing short stories since I was a teenager and have always been an avid reader. I prefer fiction of most sorts, and occasionally some sci-fi. In school, my favorite subject was always Literature. I adored devouring books and then writing papers on them or discussing them.

So, why did I become an accountant?

I've no idea. Honestly. <scratches head & shrugs> But it's probably because I took an accounting class my senior year of high school...you know...for fun. <--This girl is such a nerd!?!> I liked that there was a bit of a 'puzzle' to accounting, making all those numbers balance with the debits and the credits.

After graduating high school, which was a long time ago now, my parents sat me down and point blank said they refused to support me for the rest of my life! Can you believe?! So off I went, in pursuit of several accounting degrees, thinking, 'Everybody needs money, and accountants know about money. It should be a secure career.' What can I say but...wait for it...wait for it...There was safety in the numbers!<ba-dum-dum>