WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > General Discussion > Writers' Cafe

Writers' Cafe Get a drink, sit down to relax, and chit-chat with other writers.

Who are you?

Old 05-11-2013, 01:15 AM
KBR (Offline)
Heartbreaking Writer of Staggering Genius

Thanks 656
Default Who are you?

The Beat is always changing. Long lived gone and newcomers take the stage. Who are you? What are you about? Why are you here in the Beat?

I realized later that I should have kicked this off with answers to my own questions. I'm Kirk. I joined the Beat 3 months shy of 3 years ago. I did well writing poetry as a child. between childhood and and college, I wrote nothing. I have a degree in English with a focus on creative writing. After college, I wrote nothing. Then, I joined the Beat when I understood that writing really was a part of me that required outlet. I joined to try to grow as a writer. I work in Information Technology, a profession known for consuming it's adherents whole. With very little time and good energy, I tend to work in 20 minute segments. 20 for the initial write and potentially 2 sets of 20 for rework. Rework can come from suggestions in posts by fellow Beaters or from my own reading of the new piece. I've tried one other site. I did not like it. I've published nothing. I enjoy getting critiqued and providing feedback for others. Sometimes there's fun banter on the posts. I have to say, I'm not very good at the banter. I'm so much more likely to SOL than LOL. I'm not with it like everyone else who has replied to this post so far. If life provides more time, maybe I can hang out here more often. I'd like that.

Last edited by KBR; 05-11-2013 at 11:15 PM..
Old 05-11-2013, 03:03 AM
amberzak (Offline)
Noteworthy
Official Member

Thanks 57

I'm AmberZak, but my real name is Becky. I wrote screenplays and children's stories. I love films.