WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Fiction

Fiction Novel excerpts, short stories, etc.

The Odyssey (Flash Fiction)

Old 08-31-2011, 06:08 PM
Jay GoShin (Offline)
Copyist
Official Member

Thanks 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay GoShin
Default The Odyssey (Flash Fiction)

Intro: This is my first attempt at a Flash Fiction story. The main character will be part of series of small Flash stories. Any advice on how to improve would be greatly appreciated.
PS: The rap part is supposed to horrible, just in case anyone was wondering.

The Odyssey (458 words)

A large blast of pale sunlight shines through the third floor windows of the Asherton Apartment Complex. Sensing the sunlight beaming on his face, a young man reluctantly tosses the gray blanket covering his nearly naked body. Slowly, the young man edges to the end of the bed to stand up. He adjusts his boxers and scratches his face as he walks towards his dresser.

Geez, I hate going to the doctors, the man says as he rummages through the mass of clothes strewn throughout the dresser drawers. He digs out a purple t-shirt and holds it up to the light.

Looks clean enough to me.

He finds a clean pair of jeans and throws both items on his bed before walking over to his desk. He picks up his HTC EVO, which is resting on the desk. He checks the time; 7:43 a.m. He begins to place the phone back on the desk, but the phone begins to rumble from an incoming message.

To: Adam
9/1/2011
7:43 a.m.
Hey man, hope your Dr. visit goes well. Hit me up afterwards. Oh, and dont forget to write your verse. We are recording later tonight.

Dang it, I forgot all about that verse, says Adam to himself.