WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Writer's Beat > Members' Feedback

Members' Feedback Suggestions, complaints, requests, questions, protests, etc.

No Fun With Font

Old 07-15-2015, 09:13 PM
John_Casey_2014 (Offline)
Scribbler
Official Member

Thanks 5
Default No Fun With Font

When I joined and posted my introduction, I said to myself, "Oh that's nice, they have a wide selection of fonts available."

And then I went right to the Internet standard, Verdana.

As an aspiring writer, I'm trying to get my thoughts and feelings across to a reader, with as little clutter as possible between me and the reader.

And I just tried to read a story that was in mixed fonts, some of which were painful to read. I personally am here for feedback and critique of my writing, not my font choice.

Am I being a total jerk to ask why there isn't any standardization here to make the stories easier to read?

Old 07-15-2015, 09:20 PM
brianpatrick (Offline)
Still Clicking!
Official Member

Thanks 1,199

I've never noticed fonts. Maybe on my iPhone through Tapatalk they are all the same?

Anyway, yes, you are being a total jerk for asking such a question.😄
The Following User Says Thank You to brianpatrick For This Useful Post:
John_Casey_2014 (07-18-2015)
Old 07-15-2015, 09:54 PM
brianpatrick (Offline)
Still Clicking!
Official Member

Thanks 1,199

Just in case you can't see emoticons on your computer, I was only joking with you. I know fuck-all about fonts though.
The Following User Says Thank You to brianpatrick For This Useful Post:
Old 07-15-2015, 10:35 PM
Tau (Offline)
Solemn Simulacrum

Thanks 682

While I donít know which story you are referring to have you considered that maybe the different fonts was intentional, say to represent speech or some such.

The forum has got a default font, and unless people go and change it when they post then all posts will be in that font.