WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Fiction

Fiction Novel excerpts, short stories, etc.

Start of a story (1300 words) - looking for feedback

Old 12-23-2015, 01:33 PM
amacash (Offline)
Scribbler
Official Member

Thanks 8
Default Start of a story (1300 words) - looking for feedback

Hi -- I am very new to this (both writing and sharing on forums) so would be hugely appreciative of any feedback you could give. This is just the start of a story I am hoping to write...

She wiggled the key once, lifted the door up slightly, and finally felt the give as the key turned in the lock. The door swung open and she reached for the light before stepping in. The apartment was disgusting: rotten walls, rotten windows and rotten stench. But for now, it was home.

It was two years ago that Katherine had last seen her real home. Home used to be high on a hill, alongside the dirt road that led down to the lake. Katherine’s last memory of home was standing on that dirt road, waiting for the minibus to take her on the first leg of her 37-hour journey to America. Katherine remembered sitting in the warm evenings chatting on the phone to her auntie trying to organize her journey. At the time, the idea of a 37-hour journey seemed an unreasonably long period of time. But looking back now, as she entered her small apartment in Queens, she suddenly realized that 37 hours did not seem long enough for two worlds so far apart.

It had been a long day, and Katherine’s feet were sore. She took reluctant steps over to the kitchen and pulled out last night’s dinner of cold rice. The stark, hanging lightbulb shone brightly down, and only made her food appear even less appetizing. And as she sat down and started eating yet another lonely dinner, she let her mind wander back to that last morning she was with her family, and that first day of her journey.