WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Writing Craft > Publishing

Publishing Ask and post advice about the publishing process. Discuss new media and options.

Anyone here work in the magazine industry? How long did it take you to find a job?

Old 02-26-2014, 04:37 PM
zillionthwriter (Offline)
Let me introduce myself
New Author

Thanks 0
Default Anyone here work in the magazine industry? How long did it take you to find a job?

Hey everyone.

Not sure how many people here are involved in the magazine world, but I thought I'd ask anyway. I graduated from college last summer, and I've been looking for jobs in the magazine world since September. I've had absolutely no luck whatsoever.

While I was in college I did two magazine internships, where I worked in the editorial department, and I got to write articles for their websites. Right before I graduated, I applied to work at a brand new literary magazine and I was accepted as an editorial assistant. After eight months, I was promoted. I love this magazine and it's exactly the type of publication I'd love to work at for a living, but unfortunately they have no money to pay anyone and we're all volunteers. It still looks great on my resume, though.

I've also done some freelancing on the side, so I have a pretty good portfolio. I've been trying to get myself an entry-level editing position, but so far no one has responded to me. I think I have a good resume (even had it revised by a professional) and I write a different cover letter for each job, making sure to target what they want.

I got a response last Thursday from a magazine where I applied to be an editorial assistant. They asked me to send them some clips, which I did right away. They haven't gotten back to me after that. Don't know if that means they've rejected me. They responded to my application four days after I submitted it, so I expected a pretty quick reply after sending them my clips.