WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Fiction

Fiction Novel excerpts, short stories, etc.

Blue: A Novella

Old 06-14-2010, 02:07 PM
BebopMagnum (Offline)
Pencil pusher
Official Member

Thanks 3
Default Blue: A Novella

Okay, so I'm still an amateur writer (being 16 and still in high school) but I think this is some of my best work here. It has quite a few flaws I'm still attending to, like figuring out how to show and not tell, and organizing it better. It follows the story of John Carson and in his life of crime with mob boss Frank Connolly, his semi-psychotic brother Mike, the law itself, and the titular drug, Blue. (I'll let you know ahead of time, it was heavily inspired by Scorsese's The Departed, a western film called The Proposition, and a graphic novel called Heavy Liquid.)

Enjoy, and I would love feedback, however harsh and true

--------------
BLUE
A Novella

Zachary T. Calloway

Prelude

“They were foolish,” said Frank. “I trust you're smarter than they were, Edward.”
The teenager that was curled up in the corner whined and covered his head at the mention of his name. Frank squatted next to him and placed a hand on the boys shoulder.
Don't worry now, Edward. I'm not going to hurt you.”
The boy looked up at him, his face covered in blood, sweat, and tears.
Now, you know who I am?”
He nodded.
And you know what I'm capable of?”
He looked around the room full of dead bodies, bullet holes and bloodstains marring their expensive suits, and he nodded again.
Good. James raised you well.” Frank stood, and began to wipe his gun with a handkerchief.
You... you knew my father?”
As he slipped the gun back into his waist, Frank turned to look at the boy. “Of course I did,” he said. “Everybody knew James. Good man.”
Edward sat up, wiping some of the blood from his face. “He was a firefighter. How did you know him?”
Frank chuckled. “Figured he woulda' been more straight with all of you.”
What?” Edward stood. “What do you mean?”