WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > General Discussion > Writers' Cafe

Writers' Cafe Get a drink, sit down to relax, and chit-chat with other writers.

Viral marketing for your books?

Old 10-11-2013, 11:51 PM
MoriartyJunior (Offline)
Pencil pusher
Official Member

Icon6 Viral marketing for your books?

How do you guys feel about viral marketing for your fiction?

I'm a writer, and I find it so competitive, and difficult to get noticed, and it seems like if you can just manage to tap the right current of hysteria you can end up like JK Rowling.

On the other hand theres part of me which remains very cynical and feels as though this is 'selling out' and that a... 'real author' would be more interested in simply creating valuable works of fiction.

Did you follow the 'Horse-e books' 77 days countdown promotion at all? What a brilliant piece of marketing, they got tens of thousands of people following them pretending to be an apocalypse, and people weren't even mad when it turned out to be a marketing stunt.
http://popwatch.ew.com/2013/09/24/ho...tery-revealed/

There is another apocalpytic countdown happening now:
http://www.falseprophet-hq.com/

This one is also very clever and is believed to be viral marketing stunt for the film 'Donnie Darko III' they have people spreading conspiracy theories about an anti-christ called 'Frank' and even have created a web maze with various passwords to navigate through the maze. The site is very interesting the first passwords are 'highkey' and 'lowkey' have a look around at all the work they've put into it. I'm sure it will pay off too. People will flock to Donnie Darko III even if it is just as dissapointing as Donnie Darko II.

So how do you feel about this? Is it worth putting a lot of effort into your marketing strategies or should you just focus on being a brilliant writer?

Old 10-12-2013, 11:10 PM
G. L. Argain (Offline)
Typist
Official Member

Thanks 6