WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Writing Craft > Publishing

Publishing Ask and post advice about the publishing process. Discuss new media and options.

The Dark and Hidden Rituals ... or, what's it really like to get an agent?

Old 06-13-2007, 06:21 AM
Writer@Large (Offline)
Scribbler
Official Member

Thanks 0
Default The Dark and Hidden Rituals ... or, what's it really like to get an agent?

"Get an agent." I don't know about you, but this has always been the terrible, scary, horrible, no-good hurdle I have avoided in trying to get my writing off the ground. Get an agent?! But I'm just a freelancer, a part-timer! I haven't even finished a manuscript! Agents only deal with established writers. And agents are evil! Isn't that what all my creative writing teachers said?*

But I've come to accept it: I need to find representation at some point, if I'm ever going to break into novel writing.

I've been reading all sorts of stuff about agents lately: finding one, approaching them, negotiating the relationship, etc. They all make it sound so easy, or so hard, but they never seem to ring true. And besides, I still have questions that none of the books or FAQs seem to want to answer.

So I come to you, a forum full of fellow writers, with a request and a couple of questions I haven't yet found the answer to.

First, the request: tell me about your experience in seeking representation. I've read all the hypothetical advice; but what was the actual experience like? was it horrible? Easy? Fulfilling? I guess what I'm looking for is the story, to go along with the theory.

Second the questions:
  1. At what point do I seek an agent? Now, when I'm in the middle of writing a manuscript? Later, when I have the manuscript completed? Even later, when the manuscript is polished?