WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > General Discussion > Writers' Cafe

Writers' Cafe Get a drink, sit down to relax, and chit-chat with other writers.

quick rejection

Old 11-07-2015, 12:05 PM
jimr (Offline)
The Next Bard
Official Member

Thanks 47
Default quick rejection

Received a rejection from libertarian Reason magazine in 1 hour yesterday, a record for me I believe. They provided no editorial input, but I realized my article was not supportive enough of one of their 'sacred cows': legalized pot; the article was also unfocused, and not quite within their scope of interest neither. I'm new at nonfiction, and I'm surprised at how easy it was for me to see the problems with my submission (assuming I'm correct) whereas with fiction I rarely have this type of insight.

Old 11-07-2015, 01:34 PM
Nacia (Online)
Resident Ghost
Official Member

Thanks 918

can I ask
did they give you a real reason why they rejected you work?
what does
sacred cow
mean?
and what does
within their scope
mean?
it reminds us
it is expensive a fine
so bear one
in mind
Old 11-09-2015, 09:40 AM
jimr (Offline)
The Next Bard
Official Member

Thanks 47

When I wrote "They provided no editorial input" in my post, I meant they gave me no reason whatsoever for the rejection (which is very common for fiction publishers, but I'm new to nonfiction so I'm still learning).

You can generally Google anything for definitions. To make sure I was using the trite phrase correctly, I Googled "sacred cow and got this:
sacred cow definition. Figuratively, anything that is beyond criticism

Within their scope means (I wasn't clear, sorry): They have an agenda that deals with up-to-date issues on a national scale; my article went way beyond that (citing historical examples and international issues), and therefore was an amateurish attempt at seeking publication (which does not mean the article might not be good for another publisher).