WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > General Discussion > The Library

The Library Reviews and opinions on published writing: prose and poetry.

Book Reviews - would you ...

Old 01-03-2014, 07:54 AM
Redlorry

Default Book Reviews - would you ...

read and review a book that was completely outside a genre you enjoyed?

I read a lot of books, and for the most part I review them all in good detail for Amazon and Goodreads. And as a writer I always look for the good in a book when I review it, even if I didn't like it as much as I hoped.

I only review books I read (obviously) and I only read books I think I will enjoy either because they are in a genre I love, or because the cover, blurb or other reviews tempted me.

I wouldn't, for instance read a book about modern war, because I don't enjoy that genre, nor do I feel there is anything about it that I could enjoy.

And I could not, in good conscience, promise or offer to review a book in a genre I don't enjoy. It would be very hard for me to write a non-subjective review. That's not to say it can't be done, but it would be very hard.

And yet every day I see this happening on Amazon and Goodreads; writers getting lower ratings because someone has chosen to review their book when it's clear they wouldn't like from the start. With more and more writers taking the Indie route to publishing this can have serious consequences.

As a professional reader for a UK publishing house, the publishers only send me titles from the genres I enjoy; they too understand that there's no point asking someone to review something they might not like.

So my question is, do you think it's fair to review a book you knew you wouldn't enjoy before you even started reading it?

Old 01-03-2014, 10:53 AM
LillianTroll (Offline)
Pencil pusher
Official Member

Thanks 8
Default Review

If I was sure I wouldn't enjoy the book, I would not review it, because I wouldn't read it.
How do you become a professional reviewer? Sounds interesting.